For the love of God, please write it down

For the love of God, please write it down

What do I want to be doing in 6 months.

What do I want to be doing in 1 year.

What do I want to be doing in three years.

What do I want to be doing in five years.

What do I want to be doing in ten years.

What do I want to be doing in life!

Most people have heard a TikTok, Ted Talk or cool Youtuber talking about writing things down. Then when January 1st comes along, some of these people write a couple of wishes down and expect a miracle.

Don’t give me wrong, starting to write it down is a great beginning. The issue is that most people lack intention.

Let me back up a bit - the reason why most people can’t even write down what they want, is because that requires them to reflect on their current circumstances - and a lot of people don’t have the courage to do that!

Acknowledging and understanding the status quo is the first step to move towards a life of meaning.

Once a couple of loosely written wishes are down, most often no thought is put behind them. Are they reasonable? Am I willing to put in the work that they require at this stage in my life? Can I accomplish it within my lifetime? Do I have what it takes to make those wishes goals?

And then, life passes by, and some blame their bad luck, the government, the economy, their upbringings on their life circumstances - all while they never took ownership over their own life and thought about what is that they even wanted from it. Quickly looking for something or someone to blame.

Another common mistake is to write goals that only revolve around money - those should be the last ones. People write where they want to work, what they want their net worth to be, which car they want to drive. However, I’d argue that a good start point, is to envision where in life do you want to be, what type of people do you want to have around in each phase, how do you want to be mentally and physically.

Writing it down is nothing but the act or organizing your thoughts and materializing the ideas. Writing forces you to think through it. It can be a painful process in the beginning, but it helps you to make sense of who you are, your values and what you want from life.